The winners of the Razor Reel Flanders Film Fest 2022

Razor Reel poster 2022

As a member of the MIFF, Razor Reel annually organizes the Méliès d’Argent competition for best European fantastic short film. This competition is a recognition of quality and creativity and generates a unique visibility for the film and their directors. The winners will be put in the spotlight by all the federation’s festivals, including the supporting members. This encourages their spread around the world.
Every winner of a Méliès d’Argent also takes part in the competition to win the Méliès d’Or, the award that stands for quality, creativity and imagination. In 2020, “Last Dance” (Danny Gibbons & Alex Scott) won the Méliès d’Argent at Razor Reel Flanders Film Fest. A year later, the short film also won the Méliès d’Or in Sitges.

And the winner of Razor Reel Flanders Film Fest 2022 is…

Méliès d’argent Award Winner – Razor Reel Flanders Film Fest 2022

The competition is organized in collaboration with the Méliès International Festivals Federation (MIFF).
The award goes to the best European short movie:

by Jan-David Bolt
6 min.

Oscar is late. In the surrounding skyscrapers hands are shaken and contracts are signed. That’s the last thing he needs right now. Where do these damned snails come from?


Razor Reel Flanders Film Fest Melies d’argent Shorts Selection 2022

The following films were nominated for the Méliès d’argent:
  • Amygdala, Maria Hatzakou, Greece
  • The Wet Nurse, Arnold de Parscau, France
  • Spell on you, Sarah LASRY, France
  • Under the Ice, Alvaro Rodriguez Areny, Spain
  • Face Not Recognized. Try Again. Also Sisters, Spain
  • Phlegm, Jan-David Bolt, Switzerland

Don’t forget to watch the Méliès d’argent winners special programson our Méliès Fantastic Hub!

Razor Reel Flanders Film Fest Melies d’argent Palmares

2021 — “Brutalia, Days of Labout” (Manolis Mavris)
2020 — “Last Dance” (Danny Gibbons, Alex Scott) — Winnaar Méliès d’Or 2021
2019 — “Switch” (Marion Renard)
2018 — “Muil” (Jasper Vrancken, Steve De Roover)
2017 — “Le jour ou maman est devenue un monstre” (Joséphine Darcy Hopkins)
2016 — “The Problemless Anonymous” (Gary Robert)
2015 — “Splintertime” (Rosto)
2014 — “Sinnside” (Miguel Ángel Font Bisier)
2013 — “The Boy with a Camera for a Face” (Spencer Brown)
2012 — “8” (Raúl Cerezo)