The winners of TerrorMolins 2022

terror molins banner 2022

Festival de Cine de Terror de Molins de Rei is pleased to announce that this year’s Méliès d’argent competition winner is the short movie titled “O” (Germany 2022) directed by Dominik Balkow.

As a member of the MIFF, TerrorMolins annually organizes the Méliès d’Argent competition for best European fantastic short film. This competition is a recognition of quality and creativity and generates a unique visibility for the film and their directors. The winners will be put in the spotlight by all the federation’s festivals, including the supporting members. This encourages their spread around the world.

Winners of the Méliès d’Argent also take part in the competition to win the Méliès d’Or, the award that stands for quality, creativity and imagination.

Méliès d’argent Award Winner – TerrorMolins 2022

Dominik Balkow o scene 3

The competition is organized in collaboration with the Méliès International Festivals Federation (MIFF).
The award goes to the best European short movie:

by Dominik Balkow
Germany, 2022
14 min.

Jasmin sees a fist-sized hole in a brick wall. She’s hypnotically drawn to it and can’t focus on anything else. An increasingly morbid obsession begins, until the hole suddenly disappears.

Dominik Balkow o poster

TerrorMolins Melies d’argent Shorts Selection 2022

The following films were nominated for the Méliès d’argent:

  • Nôž-The Knife, Timotej Lukovič, 5 minutes 45 second, Slovak Republic, 2021
  • O, Dominik Balkow, 14 minutes 29 seconds, Germany, 2022
  • Sarangi, Tarun Thind, 7 minutes 8 seconds, United Kingdom, 2022
  • Amanece la noche más larga, Carlos Fernández de Vigo & Lorena Ares Lago, 9 minutes 11 seconds, Spain, 2022
  • Pisanka, Jorge Yúdice, 16 minutes 19 seconds, Spain, 2022
  • Phlegm, Jan-David Bolt, 6 minutes 24 second, Switzerland, 2021
  • El semblante/Facies, Carlos Moriana & Raúl Cerezo, 14 minutes 59 seconds, Spain 2021
  • Phantasmagoría, Alejandro Mathé, 15 minutes, Germany 2022
  • Legs, Celine Cotran, 15 minutes 33 seconds, United Kingdom 2022
  • The Microscope, Elliot Vick & Reuben Vick, 10 minutes 16 seconds, United kingdom 2022
  • Rise & Shine, Arnaud Pierre Baur, 10 minutes 42 seconds, Switzerland 2022
  • You’re Not Home, Derek Ugochukwu, 10 minutes 58 seconds, Ireland 2022

Don’t forget to watch the Méliès d’argent winners special programs on our Méliès Fantastic Hub!