The winners of Abertoir Horror Festival 2022

Abertoir Banner

The International Horror Festival of Wales. Each year Abertoir invites filmmakers from across the globe to submit short films for the Abertoir Short Film Competition.
As part of Abertor’s role in the Méliès International Festivals Federation, the short film competition awards a Short Film Méliès d’argent. This is an internationally recognised prize specific to the Federation and is a testimony to the talented filmmakers in Europe. The winner of the Abertoir Short Film Méliès d’argent will go forward to the final lineup at one of the major European festivals for the prestigious Méliès d’or Award for the Best European Fantastic Short Film.

Méliès d’argent Award Winner – Abertoir Horror Festival 2022

The winners of Abertoir Horror Festival 2022

The competition is organized in collaboration with the Méliès International Festivals Federation (MIFF).
The award goes to the best European short movie:

by Paul O’Flanagan
Ireland, 2021
9 min.

A storm brews over Victorian Dublin as post-mortem photographer, Mr. Huxley, returns to his hallowed practice within the gloomy townhouse in which he resides. His latest subject is a recently-deceased young woman, whose presence conjures the demons of Huxley’s character – compelling him to confront the narcissistic life he has chosen to lead.


Abertoir Horror Festival Melies d’argent Shorts Selection 2022

The following films were nominated for the Méliès d’argent:

  • Facies (Carlos Moriana & Raúl Cerezo, Spain 2021, 15 minutes)
  • ITCH (Susannah Farrugia, Malta/UK 2021, 8 minutes)
  • Memento Mori (Paul O’Flanagan, Ireland 2021, 9 minutes)
  • Sarangi (Tarun Thind, UK 2022, 7 minutes)
  • Sucker (Alix Austin, UK 2022, 8 minutes)
  • The Light (Iago de Soto, Spain 2021, 13 minutes)
  • The Tenant (Lucas Paulino, Ángel Torres, Spain 2021, 10 minutes)
  • Tranvía (Carlos Baena, Spain/USA 2021, 9 minutes)
  • Under the Ice (Alvaro Rodriguez Areny, Spain/Andorra 2021, 15 minutes)
  • YOU’RE NOT HOME (Derek Ugochukwu, Ireland 2022, 10 minutes)
  • Yummy Mummy (Gabriela Staniszewska, UK 2022, 14 minutes)

Don’t forget to watch the Méliès d’argent winners special programs on our Méliès Fantastic Hub!

The winners of Abertoir Horror Festival 2022